MINUTES OF THE MCDONOUGH COUNTY BOARD May 18, 2022

The monthly meeting of the McDonough County Board was held at the McDonough County Courthouse, in Courtroom 201 at 7:00 p.m. Roll call resulted in 19 present, and 2 absent. Sheriff Nick Petitgout made the opening declaration. Chair Schwerer led the Pledge of Allegiance.

EXHIBIT 1

Board Member Litchfield moved with a second by Board Member Foster to approve the minutes of April 20, 2022, with corrections. Motion carried with a voice vote.

EXHIBIT 2

The report from Public Defender, Stephanie Hilton for the month of April, 2022 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 3

The report of Sales Tax collected in February, 2022 was received and filed. County Sales Tax, Public Safety tax, Cannabis Tax, and Transportation Tax.

EXHIBIT 4

The report of Balances and Investments from County Treasurer Graves for the month of April, 2022 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 5

The report of Circuit Clerk Wilson for the month of April, 2022 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 6

The report from County Clerk DeJaynes on Warrants Issued in Vacation for the month of April, 2022 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 7

The Transfer of Appropriations of Monies was referred to the Finance Committee. Finance Chair Hiel reported the finance committee did not transfer any funds as **Exhibit 7A**

EXHIBIT 8

Board Member Hiel moved with a second by Board Member Clark to approve the report of the Finance Committee as read. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 8A**.

EXHIBIT 9

Board Member Nissen moved with a second by Board Member Durkin to dispense with the reading of the claims report and to approve it as approved by the Claims Committee. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 9A.**

EXHIBIT 10

Board Member McGrew moved with a second by Board Member Cox to approve the Reappointment of Dr. Amy Waschull to the McDonough County Board of Health for a three-year term. Motion carried with a voice vote as **Exhibit 10A.**

EXHIBIT 11

Board Member Dixon moved with a second by Board Member Melvin to approve the Reappointment of Gwynne Worthington to the McDonough County Board of Health for a three-year term. Motion carried with a voice vote as **Exhibit 11A.**

EXHIBIT 12

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Kipling to approve the Reappointment of Roger Ward to the McDonough County Board of Health for a three-year term. Motion carried with a voice vote as **Exhibit 12A.**

EXHIBIT 13

Board Member Chapman moved with a second by Board Member Cortelyou to approve the Resolution Request for County Aid to Bridge Funds for Project 2153-26 Lamoine Township Road District. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 13A**.

EXHIBIT 14

Board Member Cox moved with a second by Board Member Melvin to approve the Resolution Appointing County Engineer. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 14A**.

EXHIBIT 15

Board Member Litchfield moved with a second by Board Member Foster to approve the Resolution Appropriating Funds for the Payment of the County Engineer's Salary. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 15A.**

EXHIBIT 16

Board Member Cortelyou moved with a second by Board Member Clark to approve the Resolution Fixing Compensation for Elected County Board Members and County Board Chair. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 16A.**

EXHIBIT 17

Board Member Nissen moved with a second by Board Member Hiel to approve the Resolution Establishing the Salary for the McDonough County Sheriff. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 17A.**

EXHIBIT 18

Board Member Kipling moved with a second by Board Member Clark to approve the Resolution Fixing Compensation for Elected County Treasurer for Term 2022 Through 2026. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 18A.**

EXHIBIT 19

Board Member McLean moved with a second by Board Member Melvin to approve the Resolution Fixing Compensation for Elected County Clerk for Term 2022 Through 2026. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 19A.**

EXHIBIT 20

Board Member Litchfield moved with a second by Board Member Chapman to approve the Resolution for Change in Public Defender Salary. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 20A**.

EXHIBIT 21

Board Member Hiel moved with a second by Board Member Durkin to approve the Resolution Fixing Compensation for Appointed Supervisor of Assessments for Term 2022 Through 2026. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent as **Exhibit 21A**.

EXHIBIT 22

We have received four RFQ requests for proposal from the architect/engineer on the Courthouse project.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

None.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Board Member Litchfield read a thank you from the Genealogy Society addressed to County Clerk Gretchen DeJaynes.

PUBLIC COMMENT

County Board Chair Schwerer informed the Board that the Count property tax bills have been sent out and the first installment is due June 10, 2022.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

None.

Chair Schwerer entertained a motion that Days and Miles are checked, roll be called, and the Board adjourn until Wednesday, June 15, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. Board Member McGrew moved with a second by Board Member Cortelyou to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 2 absent. With no further business to discuss the meeting adjourned at 7:26 p.m. Sheriff Petitgout gave the closing declaration.